“Bohemian Rhapsody”

final

It’s been a while since I’ve posted in regards to an actual art journal page.

You know I’ve gotta feel this one is special if I’m doing it now!

Yesterday I found myself digging around online for ideas for a bedding set. I recalled a long time ago I came across these gorgeous, colorful—and extremely pricey— bedding sets that would sometimes be sold at Macy’s. I couldn’t remember the name of the company that provided them so I spent a great deal of time googling “colorful bedding”. This lead me on a wonderful journey of gorgeous bright colors particularly under the style of bohemian.

Eventually I found the name of the company whose bedding I adored: Natori. And I even found a photo of one of their sets that I’d fallen in love with (which is currently not available any longer—sadness.) Just look at those colors!

natori bedding
Gorgeous Natori bedding set.

By the time I found the Natori bedding set I’d remembered, my creative mind was totally saturated with bright, beautiful color combinations. I was just itching to smear down the colors of this set and then it all took on a life of its own from there.

final

Once the colors were down I had to add some pizazz with gold stamping. I was almost tempted to leave the layout as it was, but that is typically difficult for me to do. I really wanted it to have a focal point so I decided to draw a mandala over the background.

final

final

final

I’m so glad I took this risk. I love how the page turned out. This is the first really colorful mandala I’ve ever done, as well. All my other mandalas are straight black and white. There’s a couple I did over the top of a messy watercolor background, but I didn’t actually color any of the components of the mandala itself.

This was pretty straightforward, however. I used Artist’s Loft Acrylic Paints in Crimson, Deep Magenta, Yellow Ochre and Turquoise. ColorBox Gold Metallic Pigment Inkpad was used for the stamping, and then I used my Sakura Micron and Uni-Ball Signo pens for the black and white detailing. The final touch was to scribble down a brief sentiment, which I did using a dip pen and Dr. Ph. Martin’s Bombay India Ink.

final

Hope these colors make you as happy as they make me feel. Now I just have to get my hands on a bedding set like the one that inspired this design.

In case if you didn’t get enough, here are some more juicy details with eye-blinding, happy-making colors!

final final

final

final

final

final

Hope you enjoyed the layout. Please leave a comment, like or share the page, and be sure to follow me on Instagram where I post other miscellaneous projects and sneak-peaks of future layouts! Thank you!

 


List of materials:

Ranger Dylusions Dyan Reaveley’s Creative Journal
Artist’s Loft Acrylic Paints
ColorBox Gold Metallic Pigment Inkpad
Sakura Micron Pens
Uni-Ball Signo Pen
Dr. Ph. Martin’s Bombay India Ink
One thought on ““Bohemian Rhapsody”

Leave a Reply

