Lessons learned from #WorldWatercolorMonth July 2016

July just flew by. Frankly, I’m a little surprised to realize we’re entering the second week of August already.

Summer is just about over here in Colorado. With September will come cooler weather, which I am certainly looking forward to. We’ve had 90º+ days here just about every day in July and even around the end of June. While I like warm weather, 90 degrees for endless days is not my preference!

On to the art!

I’m not sure if it was the challenge to stay working in a single medium, or that I was starting to feel a bit burned out after making something new just about every single day since February, but wow, I really fizzled out on the #WorldWatercolorMonth challenge about half way through July.

IMG_2837

IMG_2987

In all honesty, I do think I needed to give myself some kind of a break, and I actually did take a couple days off from creating so I could re-charge. I’m going through another such non-creative feeling at the moment but I’m quite alright with it. I know I want to get back to doing fun, pretty things sooner rather than later.

One thing I did see in myself is that I got really tired of working primarily in just one medium for an extended length of time.

It is really clear to me that I enjoy variety in what I do. So part way through the month, I ended up giving the watercolors a break and instead drew a couple of mandalas, and did some ink drawing, as well as a marker piece. I felt so much better, creatively, after doing those things.

IMG_2938

IMG_3035  image

And I have, of course, continued to work on brush lettering prompts from the #dndchallenge on Instagram.

IMG_2917 IMG_2963 IMG_2992 IMG_3041 image image

Don’t get me wrong—I love watercolors. I think they’re really quite fun. But I apparently don’t want to just live in watercolors continuously.

At the beginning of this month, I gave myself a real treat and actually did a mixed media piece. It was really a lot of fun (aside from the pulling out and cleaning up of all the miscellaneous supplies!)

image

I ultimately feel back in my stride again after taking a break from only doing watercolors.

I stepped further away from art stuff today and sated my creative hunger by creating a miniature watercolor block to take with me when I go on vacation soon.

I’ll still bring my pocket Leuchtturm1917 sketchbook with me on my travels, but having a really small, compact watercolor block on hand for days I’m itching to put color on the page will be a good option for me (and I won’t have to worry about prepping my Leuchtturm1917 with gesso.)

If you’d like to learn how to make a mini travel watercolor block, hop over to Lindsay’s YouTube channel to see her how-to video.

So of course, what did I do just yesterday after moaning and groaning about watercolor? A watercolor galaxy painting. :)

image

So do you get burned out with your art at times? What do you do to change things up? Leave a comment below.

Thanks for reading, and be sure to follow me on Instagram, Twitter and Pinterest.

3 thoughts on “Lessons learned from #WorldWatercolorMonth July 2016

  1. Hm, this is really interesting. Thank you for sharing your experience. I have to admit I am sort of going in the opposite direction. I used to paint in oils, gouache and watercolours, but right now I only do watercolours – sometimes with the addition of ink, sometimes pure. And I find that I am beginning to develop something like my own language in painting which I think I didn’t before because each medium, of you don’t use it regularly, has its own limitations and quirks. My style is a realist one, so I am interested in understanding the medium I use and to put it to good effect. Maybe this is what makes the main difference in how people feel about working in different mediums?

    Like

  2. Your work is beautiful, love the crow in particular. When you’re broadly talented in so many different mediums, as you are, very hard to stick to just one. I’m glad you shared this story as July almost killed me and I was mixing in other mediums as I went, just putting WC in with them and it still almost did me in. The last week was horrendous but I learned a lot and also learned that I will never try to paint in WC all month again. :) Valuable lesson. I just love what you’re doing and looking forward to more. I enjoy Lindsay’s site too.

    Like

  3. I also got burned out, but just stuck through it. I was able to do 21 out of 31 watercolor paintings. For when I get burned out I usually just take break from doing any art stuff. Let the brain and creativity re-charge and rest.

    Like

Leave a Reply

