Pushing through 150+ days of creating

It’s happening again. I’m getting that “burn out” feeling. Seems like my blog ends up being my place of solace when I start to feel that way.

That “Ugh… another painting? I’m tired of it.” feeling

I definitely have it today. And maybe it’s just simply that I don’t feel particularly inspired by the prompt that I would normally be working on for tomorrow’s daily creative challenge.

Regardless. Right now, I don’t want to paint or draw anything. I just want to sit on the couch and binge-watch something on Netflix. Or go outside and play. The weather is quite nice right now. I love how it cools off in the evenings.

You’ve read my blog title correctly, however. I’m actually well over 150 days now of doing something creative just about every single day. It kind of boggles my mind. That’s close to half a year.

I do feel like I am continuing to get invaluable practice out of this commitment. I feel like I understand my mediums better, and I also feel more certain with my hand-eye skills.

I’ll go ahead and share a few of my favorite images since my last catch-up post.

I think my favorite out of the favorites right now is the abstract poppy painting I completed just a couple days ago. I love the colors and how it looks. It was another one of those paintings where I really wasn’t 100% sure how it would turn out and then was pleasantly surprised by it afterwards. It keeps growing on me.

 

Processed with MaxCurve

 

As you might guess, I’ve been doing a lot of watercolors recently while I participate in #WorldWatercolorMonth

I was sharing on the Facebook group there how amazed I sometimes feel with some of my paintings. They turn out way better than I give myself credit for and I consistently wonder to myself “did I just do that?”

 

Processed with MaxCurve

image

image

image

 

Of course I’ve been doing a lot of hand lettering in between. I’ve been trying to insert hand lettering into #WorldWatercolorMonth paintings to kill two birds with one stone.

image

image

image

 

I’ve been continually happy with how some of my sunset paintings have been turning out. For some reason I always assumed painting a sunset sky would be mind-bogglingly difficult. It helps to use reference photos. The first paining below is one that I referenced from a photograph I took during my last week of living out in Hawaii. I still really miss the Big Island and my amazing friends out there.

 

Processed with MaxCurve

image

 

I dabbled a little in painting a scene with Dr. Ph. Martin’s Bombay India Inks, as well. I still have a long way to go with painting with inks. Definitely a different experience than painting with watercolors.

image

 

And, of course, I’ve been doing a lot of hand lettering in my bullet journal. Playing mostly with colors or different backdrops for the quotes that are part of the #DNDChallenge.

image image image imageimage image image image image image image image

 

Hungry?

image

image

 

And last, but not least, I managed to get out and do some plein air sketching when I went on a hike a couple weekends ago up in Rocky Mountain National park. Can’t think of a more gorgeous setting than sitting by an alpine lake at the base of two majestic mountain peaks.

I also learned plein air is quite a challenge. Not only do you have to figure out how to get comfortable and set up all your equipment without it rolling off a rock or getting blown over by wind. You then have the challenge of ever changing shadows and light. You plein air experts have my respect!

image image

 

Thanks for dropping in to check out what I’ve been up to. Remember to follow me on Instagram, Twitter and Pinterest to see my latest creations.

Have a fantastic day!

 


Materials used:

Leuchtturm1917 Pocket Sketchbook
Strathmore Watercolor Journal
Winsor & Newton Cotman Watercolors
Sakura Micron and Brush pens
Faber-Castel Pitt Artist Brush Pens
Dr. Ph. Martin’s Bombay India Inks
Prismacolor Premier Colored Pencils
Liquitex Gesso
Pentel Aquash Water Brushes
2 thoughts on “Pushing through 150+ days of creating

  1. I concur with you on both having a beautiful urgency some days and burnt-out repose other days with creating. It’s a great practice to create every day!
    Your work has such a bright, fresh look. Keep up the practice!

    Like

  2. This sounds like a goal I need to set. I get stuck in a rut of having to complete piece after piece that I don’t allow myself enough time to simply “create” and have fun (although, maybe “fun” isn’t how you’re feeling about your goal right now :)).

    Like

Leave a Reply

