July is World Watercolor Month – Prompts

June is already coming to a close. I can’t believe it. When I was a child, I always rolled my eyes at the adults in my world who would exclaim their surprise at how fast time has flown by. When I was little, it seemed to be the opposite. Days just dragged on, and they especially turned to molasses when there was a special occasion coming up like a favorite holiday or birthday.

Here I am now, however, with my head spinning thinking I just barely got used to writing “2016” on all my work and now the year is half over!

I think part of what has made time fly for me this year is all the fun I’ve been having with the Instagram prompts and the practice of creating something new just about every single day.

I’ve really grown to enjoy working with watercolors while doing these prompts, so you can imagine my happiness when I stumbled across an announcement on Instagram that July would be World Watercolor Month. This is a fantastic directive by Doodlewash with a bonus aim to a wonderful cause supporting awareness of art supplies and education for children around the world. If you’re here reading my blog, I’m pretty sure art has a special place in your heart, so consider spreading the word yourself and donating to The Dreaming Zebra Foundation.

You can read more about World Watercolor Month on their linked website.

I am most certainly going to participate in this event. Being a “prompt girl”, however, I was looking all over the place to see if I could find some watercolor-specific prompts to use for #WorldWatercolorMonth. I couldn’t find any, however, so I decided to take a step and create my own list of prompts.

I tried to mix the subject matter up quite a bit so there’s no one particular focus like all flowers or all urban, etc. As you can tell from the art that I share, I like to do a LOT of different things. Variety is the spice of life!

Here are the guidelines to using this prompt:

  1. Each prompt is open to interpretation. Get as creative as you want with it. Also keep in mind you could try doing watercolor brush lettering for the prompt word – it does not have to be the exact subject in its literal sense.
  2. If you share your creation on social media (Instagram, Pinterest, Facebook, etc.) please tag it with #WorldWatercolorMonth so that the creators may enjoy your works and participation.
  3. If you use any of these particular prompts, please also tag your creation with #OdysseyArtWatercolors, because I would be so excited and honored to see you using my prompts.
  4. Yes, July has 31 days. I left day #31 open for you to do whatever you choose. :)

Get your paints, brushes and jars of water out. July is going to be a colorful, beautiful month!

watercolormonth-prompts

2 thoughts on “July is World Watercolor Month – Prompts

Leave a Reply

