Coptic stitch sketchbook commissions

A while ago I shared briefly that I had been working on a couple of coptic stitch sketchbook commissions and mentioned that I would share about those.

Well today is your lucky day, my friends.

I cannot tell you how honored I was to have people ask me to make them these sketchbooks. It’s even more exciting knowing that they will be used to create art.

The first one was a request that had been inspired in part by my blue coptic stitch sketchbook that I had been using with my Instagram challenges. That book is now filled and retired—you can watch a flip-through of that book here: COPTIC STITCH #ROCKYOURHANDWRITING AND #SEALEMON SKETCHBOOK FLIP THROUGH

For this sketchbook and the second, I purchased a set of Dr. Ph. Martin’s Bombay India Inks to use for the covers. I wanted something that would be permanent and not risk its rubbing off or bleeding should the books encounter high humidity or get wet. This was especially important as the blue book was going to a client in Florida.

I’m excited about this blue book as the client told me she likes to draw mandalas. I love the idea of this book getting filled with mandalas!

 

Using Dr. Ph. Martin's Bombay Inkdia Inks for the cover.
Using Dr. Ph. Martin’s Bombay Inkdia Inks for the cover.
mandala-prog-2
All the components of the book ready to be assembled.
Stitching the book together.
Stitching the book together.
Final product ready for beautiful art to be created inside!
Final product ready for beautiful art to be created inside!

mandala-3 mandala-2 mandala-4 mandala-5

This second book was a joy to work on, as well. The client has a granddaughter to whom he wanted to send the sketchbook as a birthday gift. He also asked me to assist with purchasing some quality colored pencils and pens. He said his stepdaughter was interested in drawing comics, so I chose some Manga-specific-branded materials to send along with the sketchbook.

For her sketchbook I chose bright cheery colors. The client also asked me to put his granddaughter’s name on the cover. I did this in India ink, as well.

Testing colors for the cover using Dr. Ph. Martins Bombay India Inks.
Testing colors for the cover using Dr. Ph. Martins Bombay India Inks.
dakota-prog-1
Covers complete and ready to be assembled into a sketchbook.
Painting the name on the cover—I waited to do this step after I had finished stitching the book together as I didn't want any possible dragging of the cover on my table to possibly scratch the lettering.
Painting the name on the cover—I waited to do this step after I had finished stitching the book together as I didn’t want any possible dragging of the cover on my table to possibly scratch the lettering.
Dakota's finished, personalized sketchbook.
Dakota’s finished, personalized sketchbook.
Detail of the binding.
Detail of the binding.
Sketchbook with Manga-themed colored pencils and pens.
Sketchbook with Manga-themed colored pencils and pens.

I created both of these using the same methods I’ve used in previous coptic stitch sketchbooks. These two particular sketchbooks use Bristol paper. I find that paper holds up very well to most mediums.

If you are interested in commissioning a coptic stitch sketchbook, please get in touch. :) I’d love to hear what you think you would like. I am still accepting sketchbook commissions. Orders are accepted and completed in the order in which they are received.


Materials:

Strathmore Bristol Paper
Dr. Ph. Martin’s Bombay India Inks
Cotton Cross Stitch Embroidery Thread
Beeswax Thread Strengthening Conditioner
Curved Needle
Prismacolor Premier Colored Pencils, Manga Colors
Sakura Pigma Manga Comic Pro Drawing Kit
2 thoughts on “Coptic stitch sketchbook commissions

  1. That georgeous blue book sent to the client in Florida? I’m that client and that beautiful blue book is mine. The photo doesn’t do it justice. The workmanship is outstanding. I absolutely am loving filling it. ❤️❤️

    Like

Leave a Reply

