My one-year mixed media and art journey anniversary

Darn it!! I wanted to pay closer attention to the calendar this month and put up a post on the day of my one-year anniversary with this amazing art odyssey I have been on.

Okay, better late than never. :)

For those of you who may have been wondering about the name of my blog, I chose “Odyssey Art” to imply an artistic journey.

One year ago, On June 9, 2015, after watching several amazing videos on YouTube by talented art journalists like Vicky Papaioannou, France Papillon, Mimi Bondi, and numerous others, I felt inspired to pull out an old Moleskine sketchbook I had that was gathering dust and draw something in it.

I was unemployed at the time, having just moved back to Colorado from Hawaii after being let go from my full-time job of nine years as Advertising Art and Operations Director at a newspaper. It was a heartbreaking experience for me as I had loved my colleagues dearly and was very emotionally invested in the newspaper. But new owners came in and had other ideas, so out I went along with about 1/3 of the other employees at the paper.

The universe was listening to me, however, and knew I needed this down-time so I could take care of moving and finally concentrate on fine art. My work at the newspaper, while rewarding, was also quite stressful a lot of the time and would leave me drained to a point where the thought of trying to do anything creative in my free time just never dawned on me—all I wanted to do was rest! Yet I was very frustrated with my lack of practicing any fine art, regardless.

My first art journal drawing just used a few simple materials I already had on hand. Some markers and colored pencils.

love-1
My first art journal layout, circa June 9, 2015.

But really that was all it took. I cannot tell you how proud I was of myself for completing that first drawing. Even prouder, still, when I actually finished the entire sketchbook, not letting it go to waste.

That first drawing began an avalanche of creations for me, and my decision that first day to try to create something in my art journal every day for the rest of the month of June is what finally sated my creative hunger and got me to a point where I didn’t ever want to stop.

It kickstarted my love for mixed media, watercolors, hand lettering and more.

My decision to join and participate in Instagram challenges at the beginning of this year is what has kept me on this odyssey up to today. And no, I really don’t want to stop! This is just too darn fun!

With that said, I’m going to share a few of my favorite pieces with you today. Some you may have seen, others, perhaps not.

Thank you to those of you following me here and on Instagram. Your kind words encourage me to keep going! Here’s to another year of creating!

sparkle-1

painting-1

brave-1

dream-1eye-1dwyl-1Imagine JournalHappinessautmem-1sugarskull-1bookmarks-6creativity-1kaleidoscope-1converge-1handlettering-5beinspired-1ryh-mar-4doodle-4imageIMG_1467img_1849img_1993img_2082image

 


Sketchbooks used and a few favorite materials:

Dylusions Creative Journal
Moleskine Sketchbook
Canson Mix Media Sketchbook
Moleskine Pocket Sketchbook
Leuchtturm1917 Pocket Sketchbook
Strathmore Watercolor Journal
Arches Aquarelle Watercolor Paper
Winsor & Newton Cotman Watercolors
Sakura Micron and Brush pens
Faber-Castel Pitt Artist Brush Pens
Dr. Ph. Martin’s Bombay India Inks
Staedtler Triplus Fineliner Pens
Artist’s Loft Acrylic Paints
Ranger Dylusions Spray Inks
Prismacolor Premier Colored Pencils
Liquitex Gesso
Faber-Castell Gelatos
4 thoughts on “My one-year mixed media and art journey anniversary

Leave a Reply

