Rock Your Handwriting – March 1–16

ryh-feat#RockYourHandwriting

Hello, lovelies! I realize it has been a bit of a stretch of time between blog posts and thought I should put up some updates on what’s been going on in my artsy little corner of the universe.

If you follow me on Instagram, most of this will probably be old news to you. Sorry about that. Instagram is part of why my blogging has slowed down a bit. I get the idea in my head that I’ve already posted this so why post it again? Well, because not everyone uses Instagram, Kelly. That’s just one of several reasons why I should not neglect my blog!

ryh-feb-1 ryh-feb-2

(Above are a couple stragglers from the February challenge.)

I have primarily been continuing to participate in the March #RockYourHandwriting challenge. I like it because it pushes me to create something new each day. I only missed a couple of prompts but that was due in part to my taking a creative side-road where I chose instead to focus on finishing up a doodle I had begun while waiting at the dentist’s office.

I cannot tell you how freaking excited and accomplished I felt about taking that one simple action – pulling out my travel Moleskine and a trusty Sharpie pen and doodling while waiting at an appointment. Too often, while stuck in a waiting room, I’ll default to my old fail-safe time-waster: my iPhone. Hey, why not check emails, and browse social media instead of sitting there staring at the tacky carpet while I wait for my three o’clock appointment turn into the 3:30 appointment because, as we all know, doctor / dentist appointments never start on time (even when you’re a good little over-achiever and arrive 15 minutes early because they told you to do so.)

As art-geeky as this sounds, I’ve always wanted to try my hand at doodling while waiting for an appointment. I can now check that bad boy off the ol’ artistic bucket list! Woohoo! Don’t worry, I don’t want this to be a “once and done” event. I shall avow to try to do more doodling while waiting for appointments whenever I have one.

So here are some progress photos of said doodle. I am actually really quite happy with how it turned out. I finished it yesterday evening at home while watching “10 Things I Hate about You”. It’s still my usual floral kind of doodle, but it does implement some different elements that I don’t use often in my doodling.

doodle-1 doodle-2

doodle-3 doodle-4

I also finished another art journal layout for my Pass the Journal group. I hope to get a separate post up about that sometime. I currently have another art journal layout for Wanderlust sitting on the back burner and yet another Pass the Journal layout waiting to be worked on as we speak.

Yes, if you’re wondering, I do often feel at times that I’ve bitten off much more than I can chew. For instance, I’m not sure if I’ll join another journal pass group again after I make it through this one. It is great to share art with others and to get to see how others create, but I feel like I’m really having to push to squeeze in my personal art journal projects in between. Once I have one pass journal complete, another arrives quickly after and I need to get it out lest I hold the entire group up, which I don’t want to do. So, great learning opportunity for me here for sure. And I am still glad I chose to participate despite the hiccups it’s putting in my grand, diabolical art plans.

Last, but not least, here are photos of my progress for March’s #RockYourHandwriting challenge. As I mentioned in a previous post, I chose to grab one of my watercolored coptic stitch books and use it for this month’s challenge. I’m glad I made the decision to do this. I like the color it provides, although I’m a bit challenged on some of the pages where the pigment is pretty dark. It makes my writing difficult to read in photos. If they do another challenge next month, and if I decide to participate, I may go back, however, to a sketchbook with blank white pages again.

ryh-mar-1

ryh-mar-2

ryh-mar-3

ryh-mar-4

ryh-mar-5

ryh-mar-6

ryh-mar-7

Enjoy the tour, and hopefully I’ll be back with more updates a bit sooner next time!

Hope you enjoyed this post. Please leave a comment, like or share the page, and follow me on Instagram! Thank you!


List of materials:

Travel Moleskine
Coptic-stitch watercolored journal
Staedtler Triplus Fineliner pens
Faber-Castell PITT artist pens
Sharpie pens
Leave a Reply

