Rock Your Handwriting

handlettering-5Writing and doodling and Instagram, OH MY!

#RockYourHandwriting

I’ve had a pretty busy week this week. So much so when I’d come home from work I felt like I had little to no energy to do much of anything that would require much creative thought. My art journaling hasn’t been given much love this week for certain, although I have begun a layout that maybe I’ll finally get the urge to complete this weekend.

That said, however, I’ve still been doing something creative every day, thanks to following Boho Berry’s #RockYourHandwriting challenge.  I only hopped in on the challenge during the second week as that’s when I discovered it.

If you’re an observant type and have been viewing my blog on a desktop computer, you may have noticed my new Instagram feed on the right-hand side of my blog which has been showcasing my participation in the exercise. (If you’re on Instagram, go ahead and give me a follow! I’ll be using it primarily to post to challenges like the #RockYourHandwriting one, as well as provide sneak peeks at upcoming art projects I’m working on. I even posted a haul picture. I don’t like really dedicating entire blog posts to hauls, but it’s fun to provide a quick share every now and then of new materials in my artistic arsenal.)

I have to say the #RockYourHandwriting challenge has been a life-saver for me in the realm of making sure I exercise my creativity daily. I especially love more opportunities and reasons to continue to work on my handwriting and experiment with new looks and styles.

handlettering-2

handlettering-3I really used to hate my handwriting. I thought it was sloppy, illegible and boring. Actually, it still is when I’m in note-taking mode and hurrying to scribble down thoughts and ideas – even in my normal writing journals. But it’s refreshing for me to see that when I slow down and take my time I can manage some very nice-looking text. Still trying to find a certain style that appeals to me the most, but I just love doodling and changing it up all the time.

This exercise has allowed me to give my travel Moleskine some additional love. I also decided to pull out my set of Staedtler Triplus Fineliner pens and play with them, as well as stretch out and use colors other than black.

Finally, I want to give a special shout out to Peter Draws, as the “Doodle some Noodles” and “If it doesn’t challenge you, it won’t change you” layouts were in part inspired by him. I was watching some of his YouTube videos on overcoming artist’s block the other day and those layouts came from that inspiration. Essentially it was a bunch of fun doodling and I was itching to try it out a little. Not that I was feeling blocked at the time, but my creative mind was definitely wanting me to create something and some of the exercises looked like they would be quite therapeutic. I really loved the noodles exercise the most—you may see more of such doodles show up in other artworks of mine.

handlettering-4I’d encourage you to try either one of these exercises by Boho Berry and Peter Draws some time. You could do what I did and find a way to combine the two! If you’re thinking maybe you’re not particularly artsy in the realm of drawing, I can tell you improving your handwriting and making it gorgeous is art in and of itself. And if you’re not into the handwriting bit but love new ideas for doodling, then Peter Draws’ exercises are definitely a fun and refreshing approach as they’re not really making anything that’s particularly recognizable; therefore you don’t need to get worried if your proportions are going to look weird or something when playing around with the doodles.

Hope you enjoyed this post. Please leave a comment, like or share the page, and follow me in Instagram! Thank you!


List of materials:

Travel Moleskine
Staedtler Triplus Fineliner pens
4 thoughts on “Rock Your Handwriting

  1. That moleskine is going to be a beautiful keepsake by the end of the challenge! Just gave you a follow on Instagram (@lauradelea). Excited to check out what you do next. Maybe I’ll give #rockyourhandwriting a whirl.

    Like

  2. Thank you! Yes, I’m looking forward to filling this Moleskine with all the exercises and flipping back through it. :) It’ll also serve as a great reference! Definitely try out the challenge. I find it to be really fun.

    Like

Leave a Reply

