PITT pen play

landscapeFinish what you’ve started and Practice makes perfect.

I couldn’t really figure out a great title for this entry since it’s kind of a mixed bowl, other than that the common items used here are Faber-Castell PITT Brush Artist Pens and my travel Moleskine.

Back in the summer, I took my travel Moleskine with me while going on some 4-wheeling trips with my family. One such trip I had begun a drawing from a photo I had taken that I had the intention to fill in with watercolor. I discovered I had forgotten to pack my travel watercolor kit with me, however, so I was just left with an outline and didn’t finish it up.

I finally went back and finished that piece this week. Not with watercolors as originally intended, but with my new set of Faber-Castell PITT Brush Artist Pens.

IMG_9367-0It was a means to experiment with the PITT pens in a larger sense than just using them to scribble and smudge to create shadows and soft edges.

The paper in the Moleskine is porous so no smudging can happen with the markers there. What goes down stays down.

It was fun to play around with them in that sense. I don’t typically do a lot of coloring with markers. They honestly are not my favorite medium to use because they can be tricky and unforgiving. If you mess up something with paint, for example, you can usually just paint over the top of it with white and start over. Pencils can be erased. Markers? Nope. It’s there. Figure out some creative way to cover the boo-boo.

Maybe I need to approach markers in the same way I do pens, as pens are just as unforgiving with mistakes. If you mess something up you have to find a creative way to cover it. And I don’t mind working with pens – in fact I do a LOT with them. But I just don’t fully color areas with them.

Anyhow, I like how this particular illustration came out after finishing it up. I’m equally glad that I actually had the discipline to go back and finish it instead of leaving it unfinished. Finishing projects still remains a big deal to me. Too many times in my past have I started a piece of art and never finished it.

Moving on, my other share this day is my practice with doing brush lettering. I’m getting myself into the habit of doing a little every morning before I start work. This typically has looked like my googling “brush lettering” and finding images and styles that appeal to me then just copying them down to the best of my ability in my travel Moleskine.

brush-1

brush-2I’m just trying to get used to applying pressure correctly on the down-strokes and lightening up significantly on the up-strokes. For this I have also been using a PITT brush pen. I think I may pull out another color to use for a little change next week.

Ultimately this exercise is to improve my brush lettering skills and find a style that I enjoy the most. I even sneak some brush lettering into my note-taking during work, or even when I was handing around hard copies of a proof of the mini catalog I’ve been working on—I wrote “PROOF 3” (for example) in brush lettering. Haha. Much to my colleague’s amusement. They’re probably thinking “there she goes again.”

brush-3I just love recognizing how art takes so many different forms. It’s not all just paintings. It’s line drawings and hand-lettering and hundreds of other things in between.

Hope you enjoyed this post. Please leave a comment, like or share the page! Thank you!


List of materials:

Travel Moleskine
Faber-Castell PITT Artist Pens
Leave a Reply

