“Art, Art, Pass.” – Pass the Journal layout

artartpass-1My coptic stitch journal went on an incredible journey the last two weeks.

No, it did not get passed on to many artists who put their masterpieces within its pages.

It went for a tour of the United States Post Office in Tuscon, then Phoenix, then Tuscon, then Tuscon again, then Phoenix, then Tuscon, Phoenix, Phoenix… wait! Yuma! It finally made it to Yuma! Oh no… now it’s back in Phoenix. Tucson. Phoenix. Oh crap. now it’s back in Colorado and sitting in my mail box.

This is what happens when there’s a bit of a SNAFU with the address you’re supposed to send your art journal to.

It’s all good. Mistakes happen and the art journal is in safe hands again, and I’m choosing to look at the silver lining in all of this. Yes, this journal is going to go back in the mail tomorrow—this time to the confirmed correct address. But in the meantime, it gave me an opportunity to add a couple things that I was wishing I’d done before when I first sent it out, one of which was an intro layout!

So, I threw this together in record time this evening because I wanted to make sure I could put it in the mail again tomorrow.

I think this is honestly one of the quickest layouts I’ve ever done. And I’m pretty satisfied with how it turned out.

I first smeared on some Artist’s Loft acrylic paints in patches on the page in Deep Magenta, Brilliant Magenta, Aqua Green and… you guessed it… my favorite Phthalo Blue.

artartpass-4I dried the paint and then adhered a torn strip from my Random Text freebie to the page with Liquitex white gesso (yes, you can use gesso to stick stuff to a page if you want.) I painted over the top of the text a little, as well, to push it back.

I added subtle interest to the page with a silver Gelly Roll pen, drawing little flowers, swirls, circles and a few choice words like “Love”, “Joy”, and “Fun”. When you look at the page straight on you can’t really see them, but if you reflect it in the light, they pop out.

My next step was to stencil on some large black circles by dabbing a circle stencil with a makeup sponge saturated with Archival Ink.

More drying, then I stenciled on a pretty swirly pattern by dabbing white gesso on with a baby wipe.

At this point, the background was very busy so I needed to push it back. I maintained a peak of what was done, however, by drawing a large Zentangle flower on the page. I did this with a trusty Bic Mark-It marker. These work amazing over mixed media where I find regular Sharpie markers seem to fall short.

artartpass-5Once the flower was drawn I pushed back the busy background by going over it all with more Phthalo Blue. I used a baby wipe to soften the edges around the white paper.

The flower was getting a little lost among the darker background so I outlined it with my white Uni-ball Signo pen, also adding a little extra white embellishments around the petals while I had the pen out.

My final step was to write the sentiment “Art, Art, Pass. Pass the Journal 2016” on the page.

“Art, Art, Pass.” is a play on a pop culture reference to a movie. Brownie points to you if you guess the movie. ;)

There you have it. I think I completed this layout in an hour, maybe less. Lightning speed! Now it’s ready to try and go back out again and make its rounds.

Crossing my fingers that its next postal journey is an easier one and it finally gets to have someone other than myself work in it.

I also apologize for the odd lighting on the pictures. I took this in the evening with just my overhead lights on. Interior lights just don’t compare to natural light for good photos unless you have a serious photography setup going on. One of my wish list items is a lamp that helps produce natural light.

Hope you enjoyed the layout. Please leave a comment, like or share the page! Thank you!


List of materials:

Hand-made coptic stitch journal with 140lb watercolor paper
Artist’s Loft Acrylic paints
Liquitex white gesso
Torn page of random text
Silver Gelly Roll pen
Archival Ink
Stencils
Bic Mark-It marker
Uni-ball Signo pen
Sharpie Pen
Staples
One thought on ““Art, Art, Pass.” – Pass the Journal layout

  1. Sometimes these SNAFUs provide second-chance opportunities. You spent this one well. You have inspired me to get some more art supplies – first on the list gesso and a white pen. Lovely entry, I look forward to seeing more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

