“Discoveries”

discoveries-1The sentiment on this layout describes this art journal entry quite accurately.

I’ve been continuing to play around with some of the new mediums that made their way into my hands over the holidays. Today’s layout features Colourarte Silks Acrylic Glazes, Faber-Castell Texture Luxe, Distress Crackle Paints and Faber-Castell PITT Artist Pens among other materials.

I’ve used the crackle paints and PITT pens before, but they’re still pretty new to me so deserved some more play in my art journal.

Ultimately, this layout was all about discoveries in how my new mediums behaved and appeared.

My first step was to gesso the page using Liquitex white gesso. There was some bleed-through from a previous layout I put together (that I haven’t shared yet – I’m starting to fall out of order now with these posts!) The other layout had used Brushos and the copious amounts of water I used with that layout sent the colors bleeding through several pages in the signatures along the binding. I think that’s one of the drawbacks to the Ranger Dylusions Creative Journal. I’ve read others describe similar issues with bleeding themselves.

I figure that’s what white gesso is for, however. It bleed-through colors the colors nicely.

To apply the gesso, I used an old gift card that was used up to help create some interesting texture. You’ll find ultimately this layout has quite a bit of texture to it.

I set about playing with my Silks after the gesso was dried. I went with a color combination of Vintage Mint, Warm Gray, Autumn Leaf and Black Emerald.

As these are glazes they went on in a manner that looked pretty transparent but it appears to me that they dried towards the opaque end. I dry-brushed these onto the page with a paint brush. I started with the lightest color first then moved to the darkest just brushing on in random patches around the layout. I did decide I wanted the middle of the layout to be fairly “open” so I didn’t do too much painting in that area.

I have to say I absolutely love the Autumn Leaf color – it’s very rusty looking.

The other awesome thing about these silks is that they’re shimmery. When held up to sunlight they have a great metallic sheen to them.

Shimmer sample
Photos don’t do it justice, but this is a sample of the shimmer seen in the Silks acrylic glazes.

I allowed those colors to dry, then it was time to play with my Faber-Castell Texture Luxe. It came in a pack of Gelatos. It’s a thick paste and the color I was given was silver so it also has a metallic sheen to it.

I grabbed a Prima stencil that I had and smeared some of the Texture Luxe over it with a palette knife.

I scraped off as much of the excess Texture Luxe as I could and put it back into its container, then flipped the stencil over onto the layout and used a baby wipe to clean the excess off the stencil, both sides, allowing the pigment to smear through the stencil back onto the layout for added interest.

I cleaned off my palette knife on the layout, as well, putting a little extra texture luxe in random spots on the layout.

discoveries-3I allowed this to air dry as I didn’t want to risk getting my heat tool too close and have it blister the paste. It did dry fairly quickly.

Next step was to paint some of the Crackle Paint along the horizontal center of the layout. I used the Picket Fence color for this. This, too, I allowed to air dry since I wanted to allow the cracks to form without added help from my heat tool. With the Crackle Paint, the thinner you paint it, the finer the cracks. Vice versa, the thicker you paint it, the larger the cracks. I put on a fairly thin coat for this.

discoveries-5Once everything was dry, I took out a small decorative floral-ish stamp I had and stamped it in various places on the layout using Distress ink in Walnut stain, and again using black Archival ink.

More drying, and then I set to putting the sentiment on the page, drawing it with my Sharpie pen along with a few scrolly Zentangles around the word. Since this layout is about discoveries, I took out a very light gray PITT artist pen and drew a few more swirly designs around the layout. I chose the light color so that one would “discover” the extra images around the layout when they looked it over closely.

My final touch was the little rhinestone above the “D”.

I really like this layout. I love the colors and the simplicity of it. Although now I have a huge urge to play in full spectrum once again, so you might see a brighter more colorful layout next time I put one up.

Hope you enjoyed the layout. Please leave a comment, like or share the page! Thank you!


List of materials:

Ranger Dylusions Creative Journal
Liquitex White Gesso
Colourarte Silks Acrylic Glazes
Faber-Castell Texture Luxe
Distress Crackle Paint
Sharpie pen
Faber-Castell PITT artist pens
Leave a Reply

