“Play”

play-1Happy New Year fellow creatives!

I took a brief break from blogging the last week. I think I’ve been trying to get my head wrapped around all the projects I’m working on for 2016. And sometimes it’s just nice not to feel compelled to post something the moment I have a new layout finished.

I actually completed this layout on December 23. I’m falling that far behind with my blogging, as I also have another completed layout yet to take pictures of and I’m working on another (the first) in my Wanderlust class journal.

Phew!

So now I’m playing catch-up! If you see a lot of successive posts from me in short time, you know what’s up!

This layout is very similar to my previous Kaleidoscope layout that I shared in my last post. Only it’s back in my Ranger Dylusions Creative Journal. I was finding I really enjoyed the mosaic look and wanted to expand on that some more.

I took a lot of the same steps to do this layout as I did with Kaleidoscope.

I glued down more strips of my Random Text freebie, just this time on a diagonal. I then worked over the page with some Liqutex white gesso and decided to work in a blue, yellow and green color scheme diagonally across the layout, as well.

I used my Artist’s Loft acrylic paints in Neon Blue, Cerulean Blue, Phthalo Blue, Brilliant Yellow and Yellow Ochre, naturally creating green colors when the blues mixed with the yellows.

play-7I also stenciled down some more of that Golden Fiber Paste, but you really cannot see it too well. It’s definitely more of a “touch” thing. I splattered white and black dots randomly in the layout with Liquitex gesso, then added more white around the layout with Liquitex Heavy Body white acrylic, dabbing it on with a dry baby wipe.

When the paint dried, I went over the edges of the colors with my white Uni-ball Signo pen.

I wrote the sentiment “Play” with my Sharpie fine point black pen as that’s what this layout said to me.

play-2Thanks for reading! I have more to share coming up soon!

Hope you enjoyed the layout. Please leave a comment, like or share the page! Thank you!


List of materials:

Ranger Dylusions Creative Journal
Torn Random Text page
Golden Soft Gel Matte
Liquitex Gesso
Artist’s Loft Acrylics
Liquitex Heavy Body Acrylic
Golden Fiber Paste
Uni-ball Signo pen
Sharpie pen
One thought on ““Play”

Leave a Reply

