“Kaleidoscope”

kaleidoscope-1Today I have a colorful layout to share with you. And yet another new art journal.

I have resigned myself to the fact that I am going to be working in several art journals for 2016 and that it will therefore take me quite a while to complete a single entire journal.

I have a separate journal set aside for my Wanderlust lessons / practice. I will also be doing layouts in fourteen separate art journals for the Pass the Journal activity I am going to be participating in. And then there are my normal art journals, of which I now technically have three that are getting worked on: The Ranger Dylusions Creative art journal, the converted deck of cards mini journal, and now my Moleskine Art Plus black page album.

So much for staying singularly focused!

In this layout I introduce to you the Moleskine Art Plus black page album.

This really is more of an album to paste photos into than an art journal. The pages are somewhat thick, but they may require some gluing together depending on how much I intend to saturate the pages.

I also got my hands on some new art supplies last weekend. I made the mistake of walking into Michael’s last Sunday after meeting a friend for lunch and I ended up coming out with a whole bunch of goodies. The intention was just to refresh my supply of Golden Soft Gel Matte and get some Liquitex Black Gesso.

I managed to get those, but I also picked up some Golden Fiber Paste and some Tim Holtz Distress Crackle Paints. Both of which make an appearance in this layout.

You may recognize a peek here and there of my Random Text freebie that I posted not long ago.

So this is how I started the layout:

I smeared down some of the new Golden Fiber Paste to start, horizontally along the center of the spread with a palette knife. Once that dried I applied torn up pieces of the Random Text page with Golden Soft Gel Matte. Yes, I did that over the top of the fiber paste. Really just sort of playing here with the new mediums.

kaleidoscope-3I dried that layer and then spread on a bit of the crackle paint in Clear Rock Candy in spots along the spread.

This took a while to dry, even with the occasional assistance of a heat tool.

I’ve never worked with the crackle paint before so wasn’t quite sure what to expect. I was marginally hoping that it would create cracks in the layer of paint that I put over the top. It sort of did this, but not much.

I brushed on some Liquitex Black gesso with a fan brush around the edges of the layout, occasionally touching over the tops of the white paper edges.

It was then time to add color and this time I wanted to go for a full spectrum. I used my Artist’s Loft acrylic paints for this. I apologize as I did not take note of which colors I had used so I cannot list them. I applied the paint with my finger, occasionally drying the layers of paint between applications.

The layout needed something more. So this is when I decided to trace the color edges with my Uni-Ball Signo white pen. I love this technique. It creates a sort of mosaic appearance. I’ve done this in the past on my Like Clockwork painting.

I added the word “Kaleidoscope” since that’s what the layout reminded me of – a kaleidoscope of beautiful colors.

kaleidoscope-2I added a final additional random layering of the Clear Rock Candy crackle paint to see if I could get some more interesting affects out of it. You can see the crackle if you look at the layout really close.

kaleidoscope-4I really enjoy this layout. I found it also reminds me loosely of my colorful Christmas lights that I have hanging in the house. It certainly fulfilled my urge to work on a black background and play with the entire color spectrum.

Hope you enjoyed the layout. Please leave a comment, like or share the page! Thank you!


List of materials:

Moleskine Art Plus Black Page Album
Torn Random Text page
Golden Soft Gel Matte
Golden Fiber Paste
Tim Holtz Distress Crackle Paint
Liquitex Black Gesso
Artist’s Loft Acrylics
Uni-ball Signo white pen
One thought on ““Kaleidoscope”

Leave a Reply

