Snow day fun: 12 Days of Christmas mini journal entries

mini12-2We have been blessed with inclement weather out here along Colorado’s front range, resulting in my offices choosing to stay closed due to treacherous road conditions.

That’s right! Snow day!

I haven’t had a snow day in forever. Hawaii just doesn’t provide those kind of unique opportunities. ;) Okay, businesses would close up due to a tsunami or hurricane warning, but that’s about it. As you can imagine, those do not happen quite so frequently (and that’s a good thing.)

So, I found myself at home with a whole free day ahead of me.

What to do?

Well, believe it or not, but delivery people were out busy dropping off packages and I received a couple I had been waiting for that were gifts. So I decided to wrap them up.

What happens when you wrap gifts? You get leftover scraps of wrapping paper and ribbon. Perfect for art journaling.

On Sunday I had started a Twelve Days of Christmas project in my mini deck of cards journal. Thought it would be fun to do a layout for each verse. Ideally I would do one layout a day for the twelve days leading up to Christmas, but I was starting to drop behind already. Today gave me the perfect opportunity to play catch-up.

mini12-1This was a lot of fun to work on. I watched Elf on my computer while I worked, so it got me even more in the spirit.

This is a lot of layouts with fairly different approaches, so I’m not going to detail them all out here step-by-step.

The first layout was done using watercolors, but the rest were far simpler insofar as I used scrap pieces of wrapping paper or tissue paper to serve as my background staring points. I also employed some leftover ribbon and then put my Elizabeth Craft microfine glitters to use. I utilized Golden Soft Gel Matte to glue everything down.

I have five verses complete now. Just seven more to go. ;) Not sure if I’ll work on one a day or if I’ll take care of them in small groups on the weekend. We shall see.

mini12-3Nothing like a snow day to put me in the holiday spirit. Thanks, weather!

Hope you enjoyed the layout. Leave a comment below or like the page and share with your friends. :) Thanks for reading!


List of materials:

Bicycle deck of playing cards
Binder rings
Liquitex white gesso
Kuretake Gambi watercolors
Scrap Christmas wrapping paper
Scrap ribbon
Golden Soft Gel Matte
Uni-ball Signo white pen
Sharpie Pen
Oil pastel
Faber-Castell PITT artist pens
American Crafts metallic markers
Tim Holtz Postale tissue wrap
Aluminum foil
Neenah card stock
Elizabeth Craft microfine glitters
K&Company scrapbook papers
Distress inks in Walnut Stain and Mowed Lawn
Leave a Reply

