“When in doubt: Doodle”

When in doubt doodle, #nanojoumo2015, entangleWhew! It’s about freakin’ time I finished a new art journal layout!

I’m going to give it the hashtag #nanojoumo2015, as well, in light of the art journaling event going on this month. As to whether I’ll keep up with everyone else…? Well, that will remain to be seen. Still finding balance between work, service commitments, rest and doing art.

If you’re curious about #nanojoumo2015, hop over to Dawn’s blog to read more.

Nanojoumo is short for National November Journaling Month.

As I mentioned in my previous post, I was at a bit of an impasse with this layout for a while. It started out as something completely different with multiple different ideas, but at last inspiration hit and I was able to turn this into a completed piece.

It all started when I was playing with my watercolors. I was mostly exploring how the colors worked together and interacted with each other by painting stripes down the page. It was okay, but not really what I wanted.

doodle-pr-1At this point, it was still a few days before Halloween, and I was also in a bit of a mood to try something creepy so I thought maybe I’d turn the lines into a weird sort of forest of trees with a shadowy monster coming through.

Nah. That didn’t work well, either, so I glazed over all of it with more black watercolor and then left it like that for a long time, trying to think in my head “what on earth am I going to put on that page?”

The nice thing about art journaling is you can just paint over the top of a layout if you don’t care for it. And that’s essentially what I did.

doodle-pr-2I liked the dark background, so I wanted to keep that, just tone it way down. I pulled out my black Recollections spray ink and my Dylusions spray ink in Funky Fuchsia and gave the page a good douse of ink to cover over most of the watercolor work. I hit it with my heat tool then sealed it over with Golden gel medium. I was liking the purple undertones of the layout, so I decided to give the layout a bit of sparkle with some Elizabeth Craft Silk Microfine Glitter in Amethyst. I sprinkled some of the glitter in with the gel medium on a separate palette, mixed it together with a palette knife and then spread it on the page.

I’m really happy with the added sparkle.

From there I just made sure the page was thoroughly dry and then set to work on the layout. I was thinking in my head “eh, maybe I’ll do some zen-doodling on the page…” and that’s where the sentiment “When in doubt: Doodle” came to being.

I’m happy I took this direction. I’d been wanting to do a reverse zentangle layout for quite some time, and here the opportunity presented itself.

doodle-pr-3I wrote down the sentiment and then got to work with my flowery tangles all over the page using my white Gelly Roll pen.

As always, doodling is a great fallback if I’m feeling stuck! Grateful to have that tool available in my creative arsenal.

doodle-3Now I get to move forward again in my art journal, and I’ve already got a clearer idea of what I want to do for my next layout, so hopefully this time I’ll have something to share in a shorter period of time.

Six layouts left in the Canson! Yay!

Hope you enjoyed the layout. Leave a comment below or like the page and share with your friends. :) Thanks for reading!

 


List of materials:

Canson Mixed Media sketchbook
Mod Podge (to stick journal pages together)
Liquitex gesso
Watercolors from Winsor & Newton and Grumbacher
Recollections spray ink
Dylusions spray ink
Golden Soft Gel (Matte)
Elizabeth Craft Silk Microfine Glitter
Gelly Roll pen
One thought on ““When in doubt: Doodle”

  1. As always I enjoyed your post with the great details on the process. I’ve been wanting to play with some reverse zentangles, too, so you gave me some good ideas for the background besides black paper. Thanks also for the link to NaNoJouMo. Have fun art journaling!

    Like

Leave a Reply

