…and the kitchen sink

 I feel I’ve been absent lately in my blogging. Or that I haven’t had amazing finished pieces of art to share lately. 

I feel, admittedly, like I’m going through a bit of a dry spell. I’ve been doing some doodling here and there but ultimately my concentration has been a bit fragmented lately. 

So this post is going to basically compose of “everything and the kitchen sink,” since that’s what’s been going on for me lately. 

First off, I’m excited to say that I’m getting very, very close to finishing up my second art journal – you know… the damn Canson. 

 

An almost -full art journal.
 
I’m also starting to get apprehensive thinking of working in spreads again. Ironic, I know, because not long ago I was lamenting not working on spreads.

I think I should make the best of both worlds and get another 9×12 (NON-Canson) journal to work in along with my spread journal so I can work in either depending on my mood.

Granted, doing so will mean it’ll take a lot longer to complete a single art journal, but this way I won’t be limited to only spreads or only single pages. 

Speaking of my art journal, I’m also on a road-block page at the moment. I was working on a layout with nothing particular in mind and it’s just a hot, ugly mess right now. So I’ve set the art journal aside for a bit, waiting for inspiration to hit. 

I think I’m just going to need to smear some acrylics over the top of it and maybe pull out a prompt word to get moving. I don’t want to be perpetually stuck on this page for eternity. I’d like to have a new art journal layout to share, too. 

I have a few more doodles from my work to share, as well. Love working at a place where the focus and emphasis is flowers and growing things. Flowers, especially, just fit with me. 

   
    
 
The first image I shared at the beginning of this post was an exercise I did late last week just trying to draw something just to draw something. 

I had read this wonderful quote in my Master Key System book, and my drawing just sums it up quickly. I’ll share the quote here. 

LOOK TO THIS DAY

For it is Life, the very Life of Life. In Its brief course lie all the Verities and Realities of your existence; The Bliss of Growth; The Glory of Action; The Splendor of Beauty. For Yesterday is but a Dream, And Tomorrow is only a Vision; But Today well lived makes every Yesterday a Dream of Happiness, and Every Tomorrow a Vision of Hope. Look well, therefore, to This Day!

From the Sanscrit

Love the quote. It serves as a great reminder to stay present and make the best of the time I have right now. 
I think that makes for a perfect close to this blog entry. 

Fear not, more art will be on its way.

One thought on “…and the kitchen sink

Leave a Reply

