“Why Not?”

whynot-1I did a quickie layout in my art journal the other day. Probably because I’m trying to rush through it and put the dang Canson to rest.

I’m glad for the simplicity of this layout, as well, for my blog post about it, as I’ve been sick the last two days and I’m trying to get better. For those who’ve been following along with me, you know I’ve been on the job hunt for quite some time. Well I was finally offered a job last week (woohoo!) and I start tomorrow. So of course I get ill the week I’m supposed to start a new job. So lots of rest is in order for this last day before I go in.

I’d been wanting to do a layout like this, however, for quite a while. It goes along with the white text on watercolored backgrounds that I’ve done on a couple of my coptic stitch journals. I really need to get a masking pen or some masking fluid so I can really get the effect that I want, which is the actual paper peeking through instead of “painting” over the top of it with a white pen. Although my Uni-Ball Signo pen does a fantastic job of this. LOVE the pen.

whynot-3The only frustration I had through this whole thing was the Canson paper buckling under the reasonably minimal amount of water I used on this painting. I used a combination of my Winsor & Newton travel watercolors and some older tube watercolors by Susan Scheewe. I actually like the Susan Scheewe watercolors more than the Winsor & Newton as most of them tend to bloom and move better.

The sentiment pretty much reflects my mood for that day… “Why not?”. I didn’t make it big enough to fill the space the way I wanted, so I added the little “Live, Laugh, Love” banner and the “Life is meant to be savored” text.

Pretty simple and straightforward approach to this layout. And simple is always a good thing – especially after my extremely detailed piece just before this layout.

Hope you enjoyed the layout. Leave a comment below or like the page and share with your friends. :) Thanks for reading!


List of materials:

Canson Mixed Media sketchbook
Winsor & Newton watercolors
Susan Scheewe watercolors
Uni-ball Signo pen
Leave a Reply

