“I Heart Binding and Art Journals”

iheart-1I think I’ve fallen victim to yet another unplanned layout that took over. Haha. But I actually really like how this turned out. This is a pretty detailed entry with a LOT of parts to it. I had my office / crafting space completely torn apart with virtually all my crafting materials pulled out for use in this.

This layout combined the best of both worlds for me: art journaling and binding. Yes, I’m a creative glutton!

I began this layout with a simple idea of adhering a piece of K&Company scrapbook paper to the page as my background and then everything sort of took on a life of its own from there. I didn’t like how bold the scrapbook paper was in and of itself, so I painted over the top of it a bit with some Liquitex white gesso. I then gave the layout some more color using spray inks from Dylusions and Recollections in Fresh Lime, Vibrant Turquoise, White Linen, Gold and Ebony.

iheart-2I allowed that dry for a full day, giving myself time to think about what I wanted to do with the page from there.

iheart-4I then had a grand idea to bind a mini book and stick it onto the layout. Thus the main subject of the layout was born. I made the mini book out of various pieces of leftover scrap paper from other creative adventures. Do not ask me what the type of binding was. I originally thought I was going to do a coptic stitch, then screwed it up somehow and just found some other random way to tie all the pages together. I’ll officially call this type of binding Mishmash Binding.

iheart-5After I had the mini book bound together, I got to work on decorating the overall layout as a whole before I adhered the book to the page. I was originally going to do a bunch of Zentangling over the page, but instead decided to write various phrases and words related to book binding and art journaling all over the page. I gave the spot where my mini book was going to rest an anchor with a wide strip of yellow scrapbooking paper stuck down to the page with washi tape from Recollections.

iheart-3Once I knew where the mini book was going to sit, I stuck it to the page using some Elmer’s Craft Bond glue and then wrote the “I heart Binding and Art Journals” sentiment on the page. (The sentiment was originally going to say “I heart Binding and Art Journaling” but I ran out of room.)

iheart-8 iheart-9 iheart-10

It wasn’t enough to just plunk a semi-blank book onto the layout. Nope. I had to do some actual art journaling inside my mini art journal inside my art journal. I kept with the main theme of the layout by listing words, mediums, techniques, etc inside the journal. For the page that had “WATERCOLOR” written on it, I watercolored the background. Stamping had stamp work all over it, Markers used markers, etc.

iheart-12 iheart-13 iheart-14

I then got a little lazy towards the end after I got to the center spread and quickly filled in the rest of the book just with simple positive words like “Love” and “Joy.”

iheart-15 iheart-16 iheart-17

I decided I needed to be able to tie the mini book closed so I adhered a piece of ribbon to the inside back of the mini book with Golden Soft Gel Matte (gel medium) and hid the ribbon with a final end page in the journal on which I wrote the serenity prayer.

A lot of work went into this particular layout. And now I’m certainly stuck with a very bulky page in the middle of my art journal… It will be interesting working around that from this point forward.

Hope you enjoyed the layout. Leave a comment below or like the page and share with your friends. :) Thanks for reading!


List of materials:

Canson Mixed Media sketchbook
Mod Podge
Liquitex white gesso
Golden Soft Gel (Matte)
Dylusions spray inks
Recollections spray inks
Artist’s Loft Acrylics
K&Company Scrapbook paper
Uni-Ball Signo pen
Staedtler FineLiner Pens
Washi tape
Winsor & Newton watercolors
Faber-Castell PITT artist pen
Faber-Castell Gelatos
Elmer Craft Bond glue
Decorative button
Ribbon
Distress Inks
Ranger Archival Ink
Stamps
Leave a Reply

