“Artist Selfie”

selfie-1Got home yesterday from my second 4-wheeling trip and just felt compelled to add a new layout to my art journal.

It feels sad that I’ve really only managed three layouts in my art journal this month, thus far. I keep reminding myself, however, that I’ve been very busy creatively and that the number of art journal entries I make in a month does not accurately reflect the presence or absence of creativity in my life.

I do, admittedly, want to finish this bad boy up and move forward with a new art journal. I have several new blank journals just waiting for me to do fun stuff in them.

I have eighteen more layouts to do in this current journal before I get to call it complete, though. Well… eighteen plus the cover design.

I can do this!

selfie-3Regardless, I took it really simple this time for my layout. No heavy applications of wet media, glue, ephemera, stencils, etc. Just pulled out my trusty (and currently rarely-used!) Prismacolor Premiere colored pencils and a Sharpie pen.

I decided for this layout to do an artist selfie. :) Hey – everyone takes pictures of themselves. Why not draw or paint yourself?

11903861_10206415565124668_341656976534894183_n
The original photo.

This is based off of a photo I took while up in the rockies a few days ago. I really liked how it turned out so there it is.

I free-handed this layout (I have been without use of a functioning printer for quite some time, else I would have cheated and done a tracing of the main outlines as the base from a printout.) As a result, and as you can see, it’s not completely accurate. I made my face longer than what it really is. And I definitely cut a lot of corners where my hair was concerned!

If I were really into making this a more completed piece of colored pencil art, I would have utilized OMS (odorless mineral spirits) washes here and there to fill in the white gaps left by the tooth of the paper. But again, this was something I just wanted to knock out really quick, so I skipped that step.

As for the sentiment on the page, if you are familiar with The Master Key System or The Secret, you’ll understand what this affirmation is all about. I have been repeating this to myself continuously for quite some time, and I felt putting it on paper with an image of myself just adds more positive oomph to this affirmation.

So here’s my challenge to you, fellow creative minds. Create your own Artist Selfie! Use whatever mediums you’re comfortable with and just go for it. Take your favorite picture of yourself and either free-hand it if you’re comfortable, or as I mentioned earlier, cheat a little and trace your outlines then fill in the rest using your creative skills. Write a positive quote next to your image, then pat yourself on the back because you’re awesome!

Hope you enjoyed the layout. Leave a comment below or like the page and share with your friends. :) Thanks for reading!


List of materials:

Canson Mixed Media sketchbook
Sharpie Pen
Prismacolor Premiere Colored Pencils
iPhone 5 camera
Leave a Reply

