“Bird House”

birdhouse-1Sometimes you just have to get it done.

Believe it or not, I actually started this layout right after my last art journal layout, “How do your mandalas grow?” Here I am eleven days later and I’ve only just finished it.

Now, I haven’t been sitting around not doing any art at all. That’s clear from my activity the last few days with doing watercolors, fixing the spine on my first Moleskine art journal, and sketching and painting while on my 4-wheeling trip. But wow! It was just weird to me to not have a completed layout in my main art journal for eleven days.

I definitely primed the pump and pushed myself when I began my art journaling journey back in June so it feels really unnatural to have such a large gap in time between completed layouts.

This morning I woke up and knew I wanted to get this latest layout complete. I was also at a loss with what I wanted to do with the layout. I opened it up to a page that was just the black background with the white acrylic smears on it, some purple splashes and the gold stencil work. What on earth was my original vision for this layout? Honestly I didn’t have a specific vision when I first began it so it’s no wonder I was looking at it after several days of no activity, scratching my head and feeling a little panicked.

birdhouse-2It was at that point I told myself I need to just get this layout done and over with so I don’t feel it’s a speed bump blocking me from moving on through the journal with future layouts.

I went straight to my ephemera drawer for this and pulled out pieces that would compliment the colors existing on the page. I had some violet scrap cloth, white scrap lace, buttons, rhinestones and a feather that would all go well with the background. I took a piece of scrapbook paper that had decorative birdhouses printed on it and cut one of the houses out and prepped it with purple ink and a gold Gelato.

From there it was just a matter of adhering everything to the page with gel medium. The birdhouse needed a bit more dimension as it was getting lost on top of the scrap cloth so I highlighted portions of it with my Sharpie pen and Uni-ball Signo white pen.

birdhouse-3After that I added a couple little doodles in white around the center of the page then drew the vines on the corners and added a sort of “stitched” effect dotted line along the rest of the borders of the page.

It was at that point I called the layout finished. I’m happy I pushed myself this morning because I know if I hadn’t this layout would have stalled me for a good long time.

Now it’s time to move on to my next layout – and hopefully this time I’ll have a more clear vision of what I want to do with it before I start it. Or I at least get it done before my next trip!

Hope you enjoyed the layout. Please leave a comment, like or share the page! Thank you!


List of materials:

Carson Mixed Media sketchbook
Faber-Castell chalkboard paint
Golden Soft Gel (Matte)
Artist’s Loft Acrylic paints
Ranger Dylusions Ink Spray
Recollections Ink Spray
Sharpie Pen
Uni-Ball Signo pen
Buttons
Scrap cloth
Scrap lace
Rhinestones
Scrapbook paper
Feather
Leave a Reply

