“Butterflies”

butterflies-1Latest layout is finished at last. I sort of went on a bit of a hiatus over the weekend to relax and also celebrate my birthday.

I’m not quite sure how much detail folks want to hear about “the personal life.” I’m on the fence myself when I get caught watching someone’s YouTube video and they spend the first 2o minutes talking about their new hairdo and how their dog barfed up a half-eaten squirrel.

Suffice to say, none of that stuff happened. Just a trip to the Renaissance Festival, a lot of great food and time with friends and family.

All the while I was working a bit half-assed on my next layout. I worked on this layout off and on over the expanse of four days.

IMG_8818I began the layout like I had with the previous two layouts – sticking a piece of scrapbooking paper down on the page. It was really busy so I went over it with Gelatos and acrylics and still felt like there was just too much going on in the background so I decided I would do some art on a separate blank page. I unwittingly met a couple goals I had written down in my art journal goals list:

  1. Practice drawing butterflies.
  2. Do a piece of art in watercolor and use it as the focal point for a page.

Boom and boom. I can check those bad boys off the list. And honestly, I wasn’t even thinking of those two goals when I did them. They just came out of me from nowhere.

This is definitely a more simple design. Not much to share about techniques, really.

I drew the butterflies in pencil first using references then sketched some stylistic flowers around them. I painted them with watercolor and then inked in the black areas and outlined them with my Sharpie pen. At that point the background of the page was still white so I decided to tone it down a bit with some yellow ochre via a wet on wet wash and found to my dismay that Sharpie pens aren’t entirely water resistant. You can see the flower in the upper right has some smudging around it from when I dragged my wet brush over the top of it. I’m not sure if it did this because parts of the ink were over watercolor and that released the ink or what. I did not have the same problem with my Sharpie smudging when I did my previous two designs, specifically the “Garden” design where I used a wet brush to activate the Inktense pencils I had used. This may warrant some additional experimenting. It could have also been the paper stock I was using. This one was a thicker stock from my pad of Strathmore Bristol stock. It’s really supposed to be used for dry media.

That said, I was more cautious around the rest of my page and only applied the water around the butterflies instead of right over the top. I then hit it all with yellow ochre watercolor and allowed it to dry. I distressed the edges of the page with some Distress ink and then glued the page down over my original scrapbook page design.

butterflies-3I chose the pinks, yellows and browns in the butterfly painting to sort of match the pinks yellows and browns that were in the scrapbook page design. I added a little more depth to the colors on the butterflies with my Prismacolor Premiere colored pencils. I made sure the paper I did the butterflies on was smaller than the main page by scoring and tearing off the edges. It made it so that the scrapbook page design created an interesting sort of frame.

Hope you enjoyed the layout. Leave a comment below or like the page and share with your friends. :) Thanks for reading!


List of materials:

Canson Mixed Media sketchbook
Mod Podge
Liquitex clear gesso
Golden Soft Gel (Matte)
Distress ink
Acrylics
Scrapbook paper
Winsor & Newton watercolors
Sharpie Pen
Prismacolor Premiere Colored Pencils
Leave a Reply

