“Dream”

dream-1Latest journal layout is complete.blue ink

This one took on its own theme, but I came up with the “Dream” title from a piece of card stock I had received from a purchase from My Scrap Cabin Shop on Etsy. By the way, I really love the miscellaneous pieces that came in my order. I ordered two different art journal kits which included not only papers, chipboard pieces, scrap pages and other various ephemera, but also came with a few mediums like a jar of “Sun-Up Blue” Pearlescent liquid acrylic paint – an absolutely gorgeous shimmery sky blue color. (No affiliation with them or any other special arrangements. But I’m more than happy to share where I’ve found awesome art supplies!)

Blue is one of my favorite colors – namely turquoise blue – so it was only natural that I decided to just go nuts and take advantage of the blue medium provided.

I began the layout by gessoing a two-page spread in my Moleskine notebook. After that dried, I gave it a generous spray down of Dylusions spray inks and then painted some soft wavy shapes with acrylic paint. I added a little stamping and stenciling to the page. I then tore up several pieces of scrap paper and card stock, tinted the edges with Distress Ink then glued them to the layout using matte gel medium.

dream-2

I painted over the top of the cards with a shimmery semi-translucent turquoise-colored paint. Added depth and dimension around them with blue colored pencil. Followed by more stamping and stenciling and some drips of Dylusion spray ink and that beautiful Pearlescent Sun-Up Blue liquid acrylic.

dream-3

At that time I felt it was time to tie the page together better and hand-drew the swirling vines using a Bic Mark-It permanent marker (I love how these handle drawing on top of the gessoed paper – I’ve not had much luck with Sharpie markers. Although Sharpie Pens, on the other hand, seem to play well and I used one to add some of the finer swirls and leaves.)

I highlighted the black vines with a light aqua blue colored pencil to get the vine to stand out better, then added extra little touches with a few more vines and little flower sketches using my Gelly Roll white gel pen. Because I was doing this on a surface with Dylusions spray ink, the ink bled through the Gelly Roll ink, but I was fine with that. Wasn’t looking for stark white.

I prepped two silk flowers with some more Dylusion spray ink and some more of the shimmery paint. Glued them to the layout and then glued the small silver beads to various spots on the layout, as well. Finished up with some glitter on all of the leaves (because this page wasn’t sparkly enough with the metallic shimmery paints, right?)

dream-7

Hope you enjoyed the layout. I am open to comments and suggestions on how to better describe processes, etc.


List of materials:

Moleskine notebook
Mod Podge
Liquitex Clear Gesso
Golden Soft Gel (Matte)
Ranger Dylusions Ink Spray in Vibrant Turquoise and London Blue
Artist’s Loft acrylic paints in Blue Light, Metallic Blue and Emerald Green
FW Pearlescent liquid acrylic in Sun-Up Blue
Tim Holtz Distress Ink in Salty Ocean and Mowed Lawn
LuminArte in African Jade
ColorBox Paintbox pigment inks
Prima Stencil
Cinnabar clear stamp
Hampton Art clear stamp
Miscellaneous stencils
Bic Mark-It permanent marker
Sharpie Pen
Prismacolor Premiere colored pencils
Silk flowers
Silver beads
Elmer’s CraftBond tacky glue
Martha Stewart ballpoint-tip glue pen
Finnabair glitter
2 thoughts on ““Dream”

Leave a Reply

