“Clarity”

clarity-1

Just love drawing / painting eyes!

This layout is pretty cut and dry. More experimenting with watercolor, but this one I wanted to give the layout a more art journal-y look as opposed to the previous painting/illustration. I’m pretty happy with how this turned out.

clarity-5

Prepped the pages in my Moleskine with clear gesso then went to work on the eyes, first creating their outline in colored pencil then filling them in with watercolor, allowing it to dry at certain stages. I created the “splashed” or dripping look around the eyes by pre-washing the area with clean water, then dropping in the paint and finally giving the areas a couple quick, hard blows to move the pigment around.

clarity-3

Once I felt like I had finished with the painting I filled in the rest of the details with my Prismacolor Premiere colored pencils. I still have a lot more practice to go until I feel like I can provide that accuracy of detail just with watercolors alone.

Following that, I decided I didn’t just want the pair of eyes hanging out by themselves in the layout and gave it a more art journaled appearance by adding the swaths of red around the rest of the layout. I crated my borders just with ruler and pencil then filled in the color using Faber-Castell Gelatos. I wanted it to look almost like some swaths of cloth so I used a bit polka-dot stencil and added color using inks, then fancied up the borders with a clear stamp – that actually didn’t work very well so I had to go back in and fill it back in.

clarity-2

I had a lot of trail and error with that dang stamp. I first tried to use my Staedtler Fine Liner pens – turns out they did NOT like the Gelatos and ink from the stenciling. So I colored over the top instead with colored pencil but I wasn’t happy with that, either. Finally ended with my Bic Mark-It permanent marker and then did a little highlighting with my Gelly Roll white pen. Added more shadows around the layout with colored pencil and then hit all the edges with distress ink to help draw the eyes in. Added the “clarity” wording using a grunge font stamp set and filled that in a bit with my Bic marker, as well.

Hope you enjoyed the layout. I am open to comments and suggestions on how to better describe processes, etc.


List of materials:

Moleskine notebook
Mod Podge
Liquitex Clear Gesso
Tim Holtz Distress Ink in Fired Brick and Walnut Stain
ColorBox Paintbox pigment inks
Hampton Art clear stamp
Kaiser Craft alpha grunge font clear stamps
Designs by Jaime stencil
Bic Mark-It permanent marker
Gelly Roll Pen
Prismacolor Premiere colored pencils
One thought on ““Clarity”

Leave a Reply

