“Hello”

hello-1

At one point while I was listening to my Pandora station, the song “Hello” by Martin Solveig came on. I was actually about 90% done with the layout at the time, and I had already added the raised “Hello” stamped object on the interior of the little peek-a-boo card in the center of the layout and just decided the feel of the song kind of matched the upbeat feel of the layout. So, I went with it and added a giant “Hello” hand sketched text to the layout and named it that.

I’m not particularly fond of this layout. I need to really work on my butterfly-drawing skills. I really had no idea what direction I wanted to go with this layout when I started it. It kind of took on a mind of its own and I just went with the flow.

The pretty butterfly ephemera came from a little gift shop I had visited down at Union Station in Denver while I was spending an afternoon with a friend. The wings actually came attached to a bug molding, but I cut it off else it would have made the page nearly impossible to close (and thus mess up working on future pages.)

I began the layout by tearing scraps of paper from old books and a phone directory and adhering them to the two-page spread using gel medium. After everything was down, I prepped the spread with gesso tinted with white acrylic to tone back the text of the book scraps. In hindsight (art journal – learning!) I realized that the watercolor I put over the top of that was really a lot more opaque than I thought it would be and ended up blocking out most of the text (so much for all that work with the background paper.)

hello-2

hello-8

I added splashes of watercolor in blue, magenta and violet all over the page as a base. It was a really busy base so I wanted to break it up a bit with something solid, so I took an old stationery card with foil accents by Paperchase and hit it with some Dylusions ink sprays (it was originally a brown paper stock). I then glued it into the layout. I hid the Paperchase logo of the card with the “Hello” tag which I made with a couple scraps of paper, some raised double-sided tape for depth and some alphabet stamps and Distress ink.

I realize I could really go on and on about this layout and all the steps I took with it. Just from looking at it I’m sure one can see that I just kept adding and adding. I’ll spare you the detailed descriptions, but you can see I’ve got smudges of acrylic paint, a lot of hand drawing and Zentangle-inspired art, paper scraps, etc.

hello-10

Finally at some point I had either decided I was satisfied with the layout or maybe I was tired of it! But there you go. I watched a YouTube video maybe a month ago of another artist working in her art journal and she said something along the lines that “every page doesn’t have to be your favorite.” I would heartily agree with this one.

It was a great experiment for me, however, to see how some mediums worked (i.e. the unexpectedly opaque watercolor) and to see where my strong points and weaknesses lie (strong – hand lettering… weak – drawing butterflies!)

And for your listening pleasure:

Hope you enjoyed the layout. I am open to comments and suggestions on how to better describe processes, etc.


List of materials:

Moleskine notebook
Mod Podge
Liquitex Clear Gesso
Golden Soft Gel (Matte)
Watercolors
Ranger Dylusions Ink Spray
Artist’s Loft acrylic paints in Blue Light
Liquitex acrylic in titanium white
Tim Holtz Distress Ink
Alphabet stamps
Paperchase stationery
Scrap paper
Bic Mark-It permanent marker
Sharpie Pen
Gelly Roll white pen
Prismacolor Premiere colored pencils
Butterfly ephemera
Elmer’s CraftBond tacky glue
One thought on ““Hello”

Leave a Reply

