“Eye”

eye-1

“Eye” love it!!

Decided to experiment more with watercolor and wanted to do an eye image. I am just ecstatic with how this turned out! I’ve always loved drawing eyes since I was a teenager so they’re pretty natural for me to approach, but it was still a bit daunting to do it with watercolor.

Prepped the pages in my Moleskine with clear gesso tinted with white acrylic paint. Created the outline in colored pencil then filled it in with watercolor, allowing it to dry at certain stages.

eye-2

Once I felt like I had finished with the painting I filled in the rest of the details with my Prismacolor Premiere colored pencils. I still have a lot more practice to go until I feel like I can provide that accuracy of detail just with watercolors alone.

At the end I added some random splashes of watercolor, that in hindsight I’m not too pleased with. But hey! This is an art journal and a place for me to experiment, and that’s precisely what those splashes were – an experiment telling me next time I maybe don’t want to do that!

Hope you enjoyed the layout. I am open to comments and suggestions on how to better describe processes, etc.


List of materials:

Moleskine notebook
Mod Podge
Liquitex Clear Gesso
Tim Holtz Distress Ink in Fired Brick and Walnut Stain
ColorBox Paintbox pigment inks
Hampton Art clear stamp
Kaiser Craft alpha grunge font clear stamps
Designs by Jaime stencil
Bic Mark-It permanent marker
Gelly Roll Pen
Prismacolor Premiere colored pencils
One thought on ““Eye”

Leave a Reply

