“Forest”

forest-1This is my final layout for my June 2015 art journal pages. What a journey this has been. I started off towards the beginning of June with the lofty goal of doing an art journal layout every single day for the month of June. I was pretty close to being able to accomplish the goal. There were a couple of days I really just could not work on a layout because I was out for the day, and some of these layouts took several hours to complete.

This particular layout originally started as an abstract painting playing with acrylics. I grabbed out my palette knife and went to town with various colors, smearing them together.

forest-5I wasn’t too happy with some of the stark contrasts that were going on in the background so I decided to hit the layout with a few spritzes of ink spray to bring everything together and it was at that point that I kind of felt like I could see the rough appearance of a forest along a reflective lakeshore, so that’s where the design eventually took me.

Definitely an abstract piece, but I love the colors. I think I just went a little overboard hitting the edges with Distress ink for that vignette look. It got a bit TOO vignette-y. Live and learn. That’s what I love about art journaling. This is for me and my enjoyment.

Hope you enjoyed the layout. I am open to comments and suggestions on how to better describe processes, etc.


List of materials:

Moleskine notebook
Mod Podge
Liquitex Clear Gesso
Acrylic paints
Spray inks
Ranger Distress ink
Leave a Reply

