“Golden Age”

golden-1

I’m real pleased with this layout. I decided to have some fun with my metallic acrylics and palette knife on this layout. I started off with the background in gold, copper, bronze, etc. and then smeared on some pops of the light blue color for contrast. I wanted some ink drips on there, as well, so did some up-close sprays with spray inks. I even used a spray ink that’s gold in some spots… because metallic.

It was at this point, after I saw the colors coming together, that it made me think of Egypt so I decided to draw the pyramids onto the layout. I used a ruler for the straight edges but sketched in all the blocks, then went over some of the blocks with various Prismacolor Premiere colored pencils to give them some character. I added the light bursts behind the pyramids using a mix of metallic pens and my colored pencils.

golden-6Once I had the pyramids drawn I added the hieroglyphs from a reference image online (some Egyptologist out there is probably gnashing their teeth at how I chunked it all together. Yeah, for all I know the pictures mean impending doom or something – but they went with the layout!)

In keeping with my sort of tradition or whatever you want to call it with putting a big statement on the layout, I decided to draw in the “Golden Age” text. I masked off the areas around the black background of the text and pained it over with black metallic ink, which, when you look at it, it looks kind of like a big piece of electrical tape. I used a colored pencil to first sketch the outline of the words then filled them in with a gold metallic pen. I added a few extra touches at the bottom of the layout with more metallic pens and my Sharpie pen.

golden-8Hope you enjoyed the layout. I am open to comments and suggestions on how to better describe processes, etc.


List of materials:

Moleskine notebook
Mod Podge
Acrylic paints
Spray inks
Prismacolor Premiere colored pencils
Sharpie pen
Metallic pens
Leave a Reply

