“Nature of our Genius”

nature-1My prompt quote for this layout was:

“We will discover the nature of our particular genius when we stop trying to conform to our own or to other peoples’ models, learn to be ourselves and allow our natural channel to open.” — Shakti Gawain

I honestly had no clue really where I wanted to start with the design. I take that back – that’s a lie. I wanted to use my Faber-Castell Gelatos and make a sort of antique-ish looking background in blues and gold. You see that didn’t happen at all. Hints of the blue made it through, but I was overall dissatisfied with how my first background layer turned out so I sprayed over it with my ink sprays.

Somehow I ended up with a violet and pink palette to work with, instead. I knew my quote was a large one so I wanted to create some white space to be able to write the text over and have the quote be legible. I didn’t want to do the text in white ink, either, since I was feeling like I’d done enough reverse text in the journal thus far. To accomplish this I painted over the background with white acrylic paint.

nature-3I wanted to add some texture and layers to the page so I took some scrap paper that I tore the edges on and treated with blue and gold Gelatos and adhered it to the page. I had some scrap material in the blue chiffon left over from a large bolt of the said material that I purchased to make a veil to use for my belly dance classes. I cut a little bit of the scrap material out to fit the page, then cut through the scrap paper and the Moleskine stock to push the material through the page and adhered it to the back of the page with some craft glue.

I jumped ahead of myself a little bit with the addition of that swatch of material. Before I added that to the layout I first drew several flower shapes on the layout with my sharpie pen along with writing in the quote. I experimented with some “tangle” effects with the lettering in the quote.

I forgot to mention I started the layout off by gessoing the pages first and I did not sand it (still experimenting with gesso.) So I had this really strong tooth going on between where the acrylic was sitting and the areas that had only been hit with the Gelatos and spray inks. While I was drawing the flowers, my poor Sharpie pen got put to the test by working on the smooth surface of the acrylic and the rough, ink-hungry surface of the raw gesso. Sharpies and gesso do not get along all that great, especially if the gesso hasn’t been sanded.

But the Sharpie persevered and I managed to finish up the layout.

nature-5This layout was a bit “ho-hum” to me. I like the colors. I like the flowers. I’m not so sure the layout matched the message of the quote. The rest just seemed kind of smashed together haphazardly. I suppose this is what comes when I’m trying to cram in a new layout every single day!

Hope you enjoyed the layout. I am open to comments and suggestions on how to better describe processes, etc.


List of materials:

Moleskine Sketchbook
Mod Podge
Liquitex Clear Gesso
Artist’s Loft Acrylic Paints
Ranger Distress Spray Inks
Faber-Castell Gelatos
Sharpie Pen
Elmer’s Craft Glue
Scrap paper
Chiffon
Leave a Reply

